FEND Announces Diabetes Nurse Recognition Awards

World Diabetes Day 2020 and in keeping with the spirit of WHO “Year of the Nurse and Midwife” – FEND establishes an annual FEND recognition award for Diabetes Specialist Nurses and Diabetes Specialist Midwives who have made significant contributions to diabetes care, research and education.

Awardees 2020 (alphabetical):

  • Liga Arente Latvia
  • Kristin De Backer Belgium
  • Anne Belton Canada
  • Deirdre Cregan Ireland
  • Tineke Dijkstra Netherlands
  • Prof Trisha Dunning AM Australia
  • Prof Angus Forbes UK
  • Dr Martha Funnell USA
  • Eszter Halmos Hungary
  • Dr Gillian Hood UK
  • Debbie Jones Bermuda
  • Dr Margarida Jansa Spain
  • Deirdre Kyne – Grzebalski UK
  • Claudia Leippert Germany
  • Nfor Claudette Manli Cameroon
  • Prof Margaret McGill AM Australia
  • Prof Seyda Ozcan Turkey
  • Ana Christina Paiva Portugal
  • Marja Rautavirta Finland
  • Jytte Roed Denmark
  • Adina Sanpetreanu Romania
  • Dr Lurdes Serrabulho Portugal
  • Prof Linda Siminerio USA
  • Alicja Szewczyk Poland
  • Dr Maite Valverde Spain
  • Prof Regina Wredling Sweden
Posted in


  1. Farhana Tabassum on 11/01/2022 at 14:00

    One day being a FEND memebr I would make an impact and revutionalise care for people with diabetes. Tomorrow is my first step after starting MSc in Clinical Diabetes Management @ Kings College London under prestagious scholarship of FEND